AHS Blog

AHS Award Nominations

Date Posted: August 14, 2014       Categories: News

Nominations please!

Time flies, and it is time to nominate individuals and groups for recognition with an Alaska Historical Society award for their commitment to Alaska history and outstanding accomplishments. Hard-working individuals and groups deserve attention and recognition! Nominations are due August 22, 2014. They can be sent to the AHS, P.O. Box 100299, Anchorage, AK 99510, or e-mailed to Michael Hawfield, Awards Committee Chair, at mchawfield@kpc.alaska.edu.

A quick summary of our annual awards:

• The Evangeline Atwood Award recognizes an individual who has made significant long-term contributions to Alaska state or local history.
• The Elva R. Scott Local Historical Society Award recognizes a community organization for its programs, a special project, or significant recent accomplishment.
• The Historian of the Year Award is given to an Alaska resident for a book published in the past eighteen months with notable new material about Alaska history.
• The Barbara Sweetland Smith Pathfinder Award recognizes work that contributes to the description of resources relating to Alaska history.
• A Contributions to Alaska History Award recognizes notable achievements to the study, understanding, and interpretation of Alaska history.