AHS Blog

Annual Business Meeting

Date Posted: October 7, 2020       Categories: News

All members of the Alaska Historical Society are invited and encouraged to attend the organization’s Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, October 10, 2020 from 2-3:30pm. Due to the corona virus, the meeting will be held virtually via Zoom. There is no fee to attend.

The 2020 meeting agenda is below and minutes from the 2019 annual business meeting are available on the Governance/Board page of the AHS website. The meeting will include announcement and presentation of the Society’s annual awards for excellence, memorial tributes to our colleagues who died this past year, and reports submitted by some Alaska local historical societies and museums.

If interested, please send an email to members@alaskahistoricalsociety.org and you will be sent a Zoom invitation that will include the meeting number and password.

Download PDF of 2020 Agenda                  Download PDF of 2019 Meeting Minutes

Annual Business Meeting
Saturday, October 10, 2020      2:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m.
Zoom Meeting


  1. Call to order and welcome remarks                                                    Bill Schneider Introduction of 2019-20 officers and board of directors
  1. Approval of minutes of 2019 annual meeting                                Angela Schmidt
    Secretary’s report
  1. Treasurer’s report                                                                        Tim Troll
  1. Committee reports:
    Board of Directors election                                                        Erik Johnson
    Membership                                                                                 Jo Antonson                             Newsletter                                                                                     Rachel Mason
    Alaska History                                                                             Ross Coen                   Records and collections                                                              Jo Antonson
    Website                                                                                          Karen Brewster
    Social media                                                                                  Erik Johnson
    Alaska Historical Commission nominations                          Tom Bundtzen
    2020 Annual Meeting                                                                 Rachel Mason
    Advocacy                                                                                        Ian Hartman
    State Library, Archives and Museums                                     Patience Frederiksen    Office of History & Archaeology                                                Judy Bittner                  Special projects
    Non-profit sponsor projects                                            Jo Antonson
    ANCSA 50th anniversary                                                  Bill Schneider
    United States 250th anniversary                                     Erik Johnson
    Memorials                                                                            Ron Inouye
    Awards                                                                                  Bill Schneider
  1. Other business                                                                                  Bill Schneider
  2. Adjourn to be followed by local historical society reports       Bill Schneider