prevnext
Fri, March 15, 2019

Funding for State Office of History and Archaeology


On March 9, 2019, the Alaska Historical Commission passed a resolution requesting the Alaska State Legislature reinstate the $150,000 in required state General Fund Match money for the Historic Preservation Fund that is currently not included in Governor Dunleavy’s proposed FY20 capital budget. These funds are critical for operation of the State Office of History and Archaeology, and for distribution to local historic preservation and historic building renovation projects.

Click here to view AHC Resolution_3-8-2019

These funding decisions are made in the House and Senate Finance committees and their respective Natural Resources subcommittees. Committee members, in particular the chairs of each committee, need to hear from Alaskans who support the State Historic Preservation Office programs of the Office of History and Archaeology, and their mission to preserve our state’s physical and cultural heritage.

Here are the names and email addresses of committee members:

AK Senate Finance Committee – 31st Legislature (2019-2020)
Senator Bert Stedman (Co-Chair) Email: Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov
Senator Natasha von Imhof (Co-Chair) Email: Senator.Natasha.vonImhof@akleg.gov
Senator Click Bishop (member) Email: Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Senator Lyman Hoffman (member) Email: Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov
Senator Peter Micciche (member) Email: Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov
Senator Mike Shower (member) Email: Senator.Mike.Shower@akleg.gov
Senator David Wilson (member) Email: Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov
Senator Donald Olson (member) Email: Senator.Donald.Olson@akleg.gov
Senator Bill Wielechowski (member) Email: Senator.Bill.Wielechowski@akleg.gov

AK Senate Natural Resources Committee (Finance Subcommittee) – 31st Legislature (2019-2020)
Senator Click Bishop (Chair) Email: Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Senator Cathy Giessel (member) Email: Senator.Cathy.Giessel@akleg.gov
Senator Peter Micciche (member) Email: Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov
Senator Jesse Kiehl (member) Email: Senator.Jesse.Kiehl@akleg.gov

AK House Finance Committee – 31st Legislature (2019-2020)
Rep. Neal Foster (Co-Chair) Email: Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov
Rep. Tammie Wilson (Co-Chair) Email: Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Rep. Jennifer Johnston (Vice-Chair) Email: Representative.Jennifer.Johnston@akleg.gov
Rep. Dan Ortiz (member) Email: Representative.Dan.Ortiz@akleg.gov
Rep. Andy Josephson (member) Email: Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov
Rep. Gary Knopp (member) Email: Representative.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov
Rep. Bart LeBon (member) Email: Representative.Bart.LeBon@akleg.gov
Rep. Cathy Tilton (member) Email: Representative.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov
Rep. Kelly Merrick (member) Email: Representative.Kelly.Merrick@akleg.gov
Rep. Colleen Sullivan-Leonard (member) Email: Representative.Colleen.Sullivan-Leonard@akleg.gov
Rep. Ben Carpenter (member) Email: Email: Representative.Ben.Carpenter@akleg.gov

AK House Natural Resources Committee (Finance Subcommittee) – 31st Legislature (2019-2020)
Rep. Gary Knopp (Chair) Email: Representative.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov
Rep. John Lincoln (member) Email: Representative.John.Lincoln@akleg.gov
Rep. Geran Tarr (member) Email: Representative.Geran.Tarr@akleg.gov
Rep. Grier Hopkins (member) Email: Representative.Grier.Hopkins@akleg.gov
Rep. Sara Hannan (member) Email: Representative.Sara.Hannan@akleg.gov
Rep. Chris Tuck (member) Email: Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov
Rep. Ivy Spohnholz (member) Email: Representative.Ivy.Spohnholz@akleg.gov
Rep. Dave Talerico (member) Email: Representative.Dave.Talerico@akleg.gov
Rep. George Rauscher (member) Email: Representative.George.Rauscher@akleg.gov
Rep. Sara Rasmussen (member) Email: Representative.Sara.Rasmussen@akleg.gov
Rep. Kelly Merrick (member) Email: Representative.Kelly.Merrick@akleg.gov