Wed, June 07, 2017

Soliciting Award Nominations

The Alaska Historical Society is soliciting nominations for its 2017 Awards given annually at our conference. This year’s conference is September 27-30, 2017 in Anchorage. The available awards are listed below. See the Alaska Historical Society Awards page for lists of previous winners.

Nomination deadline is August 15, 2017.

Please send nominations to Michael Hawfield, Awards Committee Chair,


The Evangeline Atwood Award is given to an individual for significant long-term contributions to Alaska state or local history. The award is named for one of the founders of the Alaska Historical Society who wrote, supported, and advocated for Alaska history from the 1940s into the 1990s.

The Elva R. Scott Local Historical Society Award recognizes a community historical society or museum for its newsletter, a publication, programs, or other significant recent accomplishment. Elva Scott was a founder of Homer’s Pratt Museum and for over 20 years the tireless, creative and talented editor of the Eagle Historical Society newsletter.

The Jim Ducker Historian of the Year Award is given to an Alaska resident for publication of notable new material about Alaska history this past year.

The Barbara Sweetland Smith Pathfinder Award recognizes contributions to the discovery and description of resources relating to Alaska history.

The Esther Billman Certificate of Excellence recognizes a state or local society, museum, government agency, or an organization that has completed a project contributing to the preservation and understanding of Alaska history during the past year. Esther Billman’s efforts to preserve Alaska history and develop the Sheldon Jackson Museum are commemorated by the award now given in her name.

Contributions to Alaska History Award recognizes an individual or individuals who have made singular and significant recent contributions to Alaska history.