AHS Blog  |  News

Suffragists Project Jukebox

Date Posted: November 2, 2019       Categories: News
In recognition of the upcoming 100th anniversary of the 1920 passage of the 19th Amendment, which gave women of the United States the right to vote, the Oral History Program at the University of Alaska Fairbanks has updated the:

Recovering Our Past, The Struggle for Women’s Suffrage Project Jukebox

This Project Jukebox contains a slideshow of images with audio excerpted from oral history interviews conducted in the 1970s with women who were directly involved with the original struggle for women’s suffrage in the Lower 48.  It is a great resource for education about this nationally important issue and anniversary, as well as serving as the basis for conversations about women gaining the right to vote in Alaska and current access to equal voting rights.

Here is a link to the Project:   http://jukebox.uaf.edu/site7/suffragists.

ANCSA Presentation by Emil Notti

Date Posted: November 2, 2019       Categories: News

Reflections on the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act with Emil Notti

Wednesday, November 20th, 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Lecture Hall at The Father Andrew P. Kashevaroff Building, 395 Whittier Street, Juneau, Alaska

Dr. Emil Notti was the first Alaska Federation of Natives president who cast the tie-breaking vote to allow the Sealaska region into Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA), the 1971 legislation that authorized Alaska Natives to select and receive title to 44 million acres of public land in Alaska, receive $962 million as settlement of indigenous land claims, and establish village and regional Native corporations. Without his vote, Southeast Alaska would have a different political and economic landscape. Born in Koyukon, Notti is a graduate of Mt. Edgecumbe high school, holds a bachelor’s degree in aeronautical and electrical engineering from Northrop University and honorary doctorate degrees from Alaska Methodist University (Alaska Pacific University) and University of Alaska Anchorage, is a U.S. Navy veteran, and served as commissioner of the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.

Light refreshments provided by Central Council Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska Sacred Grounds Café will be served in the atrium prior to the presentation.

This program is co-sponsored by Central Council Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, Goldbelt, Inc., and the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium.

Article About Archives Video Project

Date Posted: November 2, 2019       Categories: News

Photo by Sarah Manriquez. Courtesy of Clarity Magazine, UAF, 2019.

As part of his advocacy efforts, Bill Schneider recently wrote an article highlighting the value of the Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives at Elmer E. Rasmuson Library at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and explaining The Archive Video Project that produced videos featuring researchers using the collections. View this article, “Archives Video Project Highlights Historical Treasures” in the on-line version of the 2019 edition of Clarity, the magazine of the College of Liberal Arts, University of Alaska Fairbanks.

UAF Archives Open House

Date Posted: October 8, 2019       Categories: News

Archives Month at the National Archives

Date Posted: October 8, 2019       Categories: News

The National Archives is celebrating American Archives Month throughout October. Join us to learn more about how our staff make your history accessible to you! Follow us on social media and share your archives stories using the hashtag #ArchivesMonth.

Banner of selected images for American Archives Month

Pieces of History has a collection of blog posts highlighting the work of our staff, along with some special videos. On Instagram, Archives staff will take over and share photos of their day and the fascinating records they come across.

The National Archives will also be hosting our annual virtual Genealogy Fair on Wednesday, October 23, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tune into YouTube as our experts discuss family history research in Federal records—and answer your questions in real time.

You can read more about American Archives Month resources on National Archives News.